What is Unmonitored Screen Activity? (Android™)

Screen Accountability is a big step forward, but it has a caveat when it comes to Android™ devices. Our app is unable to take screenshots in a browser that is using private browsing. When that browser is closed, our app will resume taking screenshots. Because of this unique situation, we detect and report each use of private browsing, on an Android device, as “Unmonitored Screen Activity.”

When private browsing has been detected, the next report email will automatically include “Review” in the subject line and an “Unmonitored Screen Activity” entry will appear in that report (see the example below). Because private browsing is designed to ensure nothing from an online session is logged in a person’s browser history or search history, it’s important that allies know when it’s being used.

We advise members to avoid any form of “going incognito.” Use of a privacy mode is automatically noted in the report and includes details about the browser, device and time frame. And allies, while being supportive, will consider why the member would try to conceal some online activity.

Related reading